PEORIA, IL— Congressman Darin LaHood (R-IL) announced today that eight remarkable young men and women he nominated to military service academies have accepted appointments to attend the United States Military Academy, the United States Air Force Academy, and the United States Naval Academy.

“I am proud to announce that these dynamic leaders from across the 18th District have accepted appointments to the nation’s prestigious military academies,” stated Rep. LaHood.  “After speaking with each of them individually, I have no doubt that they will represent their country, state, and hometown with honor, courage, and pride. I am inspired by these leaders who are willing to put service before self at such a young age, and I wish them well as they prepare for this challenge.”

Appointees completed a rigorous application process conducted by a selection panel including veterans and central and west-central Illinois community leaders.

2020 Appointees

Noah Bright
United States Military Academy
Macomb High School
Macomb, IL

Aaron Calhoun
United States Military Academy
IL Math and Science Academy
Princeville, IL

Adam Duffer
United States Military Academy
Mongolian International School
East Peoria, IL

Isaac Escapa
United States Military Academy
Rushville-Industry High School
Rushville, IL

Justin Espe
United States Military Academy
Pleasant Plains High School
Springfield, IL

Abigail McCue
United States Air Force Academy
Waverly High School
Waverly, IL

Stephen Shin
United States Naval Academy
Dunlap High School
Peoria, IL

Jolienne Varquez
United States Naval Academy
East Peoria High School
East Peoria, IL