Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Representative Darin LaHood

Representing the 18th District of Illinois

Rep. LaHood to Co-Chair Economics/Energy and Competitiveness Pillars on the China Task Force

May 20, 2020
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congressman Darin LaHood (R-IL) was named as a co-chair of the Economics/Energy and Competitiveness pillars or Subcommittees of the China Task Force. The Task Force will consist of five Pillars, including National Security, Technology, Economics and Energy, Competitiveness, and Ideological Competition.

“I am proud to be named to co-chair two important pillars of the China Task Force: Economics & Energy and Competitiveness,” said Rep. LaHood. “As we look to the future, China presents a unique challenge to the United States as technology and our economies modernize. As co-chair of these pillars, I look forward to ensuring our manufacturers, small businesses, and farmers in Illinois have a seat at the table and engaging on key issues such as the U.S.-China trade relationship, supply chains, and America’s energy independence.”

Economics and Energy Pillar

  • The economics and energy pillar will address United States competition in international trade, the movement of capital, economic statecraft, and the energy industry
  • This includes intellectual property violations, State-Owned enterprises, technology transfers, tariff policy, oil and gas, renewable energy, and nuclear energy

Competitiveness Pillar

  • To complement the reactive nature of other pillars, this pillar will form a proactive agenda to increase the competitiveness of the United States
  • This includes Macro-level federal competitiveness measures, education and research integrity, National Security education, STEM education, and visa policy for talent acquisition

The China Task Force will specifically prioritize Republican policy ideas and legislation that protect U.S. institutions from malign influence and coercion, advance the U.S. technological edge in key sectors, and make our citizens and society resilient to malign influence from foreign actors.

As the sole member of the Ways and Means Committee named to the China Task Force, Rep. LaHood will lend his expertise in trade and the economic relationship between our two countries to the group. Last year, Congressman LaHood led a Congressional delegation trip in the middle of U.S.-China trade negotiations to discuss the need for structural reform in the U.S.-China trade relationship.

Over the last three consecutive years, Congressman LaHood has led bipartisan delegation trips to China to engage with business and government leaders and educate Members of Congress on the U.S.-China relationship.

Other members of the China Task Force include GOP Conference Chairwoman Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.) and Reps. Jim Banks (R-Ind.), Andy Barr (R-Ky.), John Curtis (R-Utah), Anthony Gonzalez (R-Ohio), Denver Riggleman (R-Va.), Mike Gallagher (R-Wis.), John Joyce (R-Pa.), Adam Kinzinger (R-Ill.), Guy Reschenthaler (R-Pa.), Rep. Michael McCaul (R-Tx.), Elise Stefanik (R-N.Y.), Chris Stewart (R-Utah) and Michael Waltz (R-Fla.).

Read more from the House Foreign Affairs Committee Republicans here.