Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Representative Darin LaHood

Representing the 18th District of Illinois

LaHood, Davis Announce CARES Act Funding for Springfield Mass Transit District

May 5, 2020
Press Release

SPRINGFIELD, IL—U.S. Reps. Darin LaHood (IL-18) and Rodney Davis (IL-13) today announced that the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) has awarded CARES Act funding to the Springfield Mass Transit District (SMTD) in the amount of $7,630,374. Congressman LaHood and Davis voted for the CARES Act and President Trump signed it into law in March. SMTD will use the grant funds to provide transit service that helps the community recover from the severe social and economic impacts of COVID-19, as well as wages for employees on paid administrative leave due to service reductions.

The Federal Transit Administration (FTA) announced previously that Illinois mass transit districts would receive a total of $1,623,200,130 to prevent, prepare for, and respond to the coronavirus.

“COVID—19 has placed an incredible strain on public transportation, decreasing revenues and ridership across Illinois,” said LaHood. “Congress and the federal government took important steps to provide relief to mass transit districts and local governments during this pandemic through four pieces of legislation. It’s important that residents have access to safe public transportation, and his funding will ensure they can get through this challenging time.”

"The mass transit districts in my district are struggling financially due to decreased ridership as a result of the coronavirus pandemic," said Davis. "This funding will ensure the Springfield MTD can continue operations in a safe manner. This is yet another example of the federal government supporting local government during this crisis."

Background from the FTA
Funding will be provided at a 100 percent federal share, with no local match required, and will be available to support operating, capital and other expenses incurred beginning January 20, 2020. Operating expenses are eligible for all urban, rural and Tribal recipients, even those in large urban areas, and includes operating expenses to maintain transit services as well as paying for administrative leave for transit personnel due to reduced operations during the emergency are eligible.